Division of City Schools – Mandaluyong

DepED – Mandaluyong


   Following the enactment of RA 7675, provision for the conversion of Municipality of Mandaluyong into an urbanized city, the Division of City Schools – Mandaluyong was separated from the Division of Quezon City on June 3, 1994 with Dr. Pedro A. Ramos as the first Schools Division Superintendent up to 1997 succeeded by Dr. Eden C. Diaz up to 2002 then Dr. Florencia C. Domingo headed the division until her retirement on 2011. Currently, the Division Office is under the management of Ms. Helen Grace V. Go as Officer in charge – Office of the Schools Division Superintendent.

   To date, there are 11 elementary, 4 secondary, 5 integrated public schools and a SPED School with a total of 21 schools under the jurisdiction of the division. The elementary schools have a combined enrollment average of 31,000 pupils and 18,000 students for the secondary level with increase of 2% each year. Catering for all the learners, the division has a total teaching force of  1,354 teachers for both the elementary and secondary levels. A total of 37 Private Schools with offerings varying from Nursery up to Secondary Levels are also under the Division’s jurisdiction.

   Upon its inception, the division office is housed in the Administration Building of Highway Hills Integrated School(formerly Highway Hills Elementary School), located at Calbayog St. Highway Hills, Mandaluyong City. On 2004 the Division Office was renovated with the addition of a third floor, being used as the Division Conference Hall. Facilities and other furnishings are funded by the School Board Fund, Special Educations Fund and the Local Government to facilitate the services for all the stakeholders.

Comments are closed.